If you drive a tractor trailer, you need to be careful not to violate Virginia’s height restrictions on your truck. Virginia Code § 46.2-1110 states that:
No loaded or unloaded vehicle shall exceed a height of 13 feet, six inches.
The penalties for violating this statute are harsh. You can be charged with a misdemeanor for an over-height violation on your truck! For example, you may find yourself facing a criminal charge if the load on your truck shifts inadvertently as you drive your 18 wheeler for your employer. Protect your CDL and your livelihood!
Penalties for a height violation are harsh. A conviction would be a misdemeanor and the mandatory minimum fine is $1,000 for a first offense!
Any person who drives or attempts to drive any vehicle or combination of vehicles into or through any tunnel when the height of such vehicle, any vehicle in a combination of vehicles, or any load on any such vehicle exceeds that permitted for such tunnel, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, in addition, shall be assessed three driver demerit points. In addition, the driver of any such vehicle shall be fined $1,000, of which $1,000 shall be a mandatory minimum. For subsequent offenses, the owner of any such vehicle shall be fined $2,500, of which $2,500 shall be a mandatory minimum.
In cities such as Hampton, optical sensors may be installed at tunnel entrances to identify vehicles that exceed Virginia’s overhead clearance regulation.
If you are facing a tunnel height violation charge, it may be possible to avoid a criminal record and escape the harshness of Virginia’s traffic code. It may also be possible to have your case tried in your absence.
Please call me today if you would like a free consultation. 757-932-0464.